Joseph Greenberg Award

The Association for Linguistic Typology's Joseph Greenberg Award recognizes and honors the best piece of typological research embodied in a doctoral dissertation or equivalent in 2015-2016. Theses are eligible if they were accepted by a university between 1 January 20015 and 31 December 2016 (i.e. passed or defended or accepted, and not just submitted). The award will consist of payment of travel, per diem expenses and registration fee to attend the ALT XII Conference, to be held in Canberra, Australia, 11-15 December, 2017, and the opportunity to present a synopsis or element of the prize-winning work as a plenary lecture at that meeting.

The Joseph Greenberg Award was named to remember Joseph Greenberg's (1915-2001) fundamental contributions to typology and the interest he showed in encouraging young researchers. Between 1998 and 2006, it was known as the "ALT Junior Award".

To be eligible, those submitting their dissertation must be members of the Association for Linguistic Typology (ALT) at the time of submission. They are asked to submit their manuscript by email in pdf format, with all non-standard fonts in Unicode, to the Chair of the Jury, Sonia Cristofaro [], to arrive no later than 15 January, 2017. If this proves technically difficult, the candidate is asked to discuss the problem with the chair. A jury, consisting of about ten ALT members, will be appointed by ALT's President, appropriate to the work submitted.

Click here to access the call detailed above as a pdf file.

Past Award Recipients and Honourable Mentions

 2017  2015  2013 2009 2007 2005 2001 1999  

Award Recipient

Ksenia Shagal (University of Helsinki, Finland)
Towards a typology of participles

Award Recipient

Katarzyna Janic (Université Lumirère Lyon 2, France)
L'antipassif dans les langues accusatives (The antipassive in accusative languages)

Award Recipient

Eva van Lier (University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Parts of speech and dependent clauses: a typological study

Honourable Mention
Natalia Stoynova (Moscow State University, Moscow, Russia)
2012. Типология глагольных показателей рефактива: модели полисемии и структура семантической зоны (Typology of the verbal markers of refactive: Polysemy patterns and structure of the semantic zone)

Honourable Mention
Alena Witzlack-Makarevich (University of Leipzig, Leipzig, Germany)
2010. Typological variation in grammatical relations.

Award Recipient

Caterina Mauri (University of Pavia, Italy)
Coordination relations in the languages of Europe and beyond

Honourable Mention
Jan Wohlgemuth (Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology, Leipzig)
A Typology of Verbal Borrowing

Award Recipient
Aleksandr Arkhipov (Moscow State University, Russia)
Tipologija komitativnyx konstrukcij
(Typology of comitative constructions)

Honourable Mentions
Valentin Gousev (Russian Academy of Sciences Institute of Linguistics, Moscow, Russia)
Tipologija specializirovannyx glagol'nyx form imperativa
(Typology of dedicated verbal forms of the imperative)

Olesya Khanina (Moscow State University, Russia)
Jazykovoe oformlenie situacii želania (opyt tipologičeskogo issledovania)
(Linguistic encoding of 'wanting': a typological approach)

René Schiering (University of Konstanz, Germany)
Cliticization and the Evolution of Morphology: a Cross-linguistic Study on Phonology in Grammaticalization)

Award Recipient
Matti Miestamo (University of Helsinki, Finland)
Clausal negation: a typological study

Honourable Mentions
Oliver Iggesen (Universität Bremen, Germany)
Case-asymmetry: a world-wide typological study on lexeme-class-dependent deviations in morphological case inventories

Hsiu-chuan Liao (University of Hawai'i, USA)
Transitivity and ergativity in Formosan and Philippine languages

Adam Saulwick (University of Melbourne, Australia)
Aspect of the verb in Rembarrnga: a polysynthetic language of northern Australia

Award Recipients
Michael Cysouw (Katholieke Universiteit Nijmegen, The Netherlands)
The paradigmatic structure of person marking

Michael Daniel (Russian State University for the Humanities, Moscow, Russia)
Tipologija associativnoj množestvennosti
(The typology of associative plurality)

Honourable Mention
Elena Filimonova (Lomonosov University, Russia, 1999)
Universal'nye anomalij licnyx mestoimenij
(Universal anomalies of personal pronouns)

Award Recipients
Konstantin Kazenin (Moscow State University, Russia)
Sintaksičieskie ograničenija i puti ix ob'jasnenija (na materiale dagestanskix jazykov)
("Syntactic constraints and ways of explaining them (based on Daghestanian languages)")

Sergej Tatevosov (Moscow State University, Russia)
Typological problems of quantification in natural language (based on quantifiers expressing totality)

Honourable Mentions
Sonia Cristaforo (University of Pavia, Italy)

Holger Diessel (University at Buffalo, USA)
Demonstratives in crosslinguistic and diachronic perspective

Ekaterina Ljutikova (Moscow State University, Russia)
Intensifikatory i tipologija reflexiva
("Intensifiers and the typology of reflexives")

Back to Top

Pāṇini Award

Past Award Recipients:

2011 2007  


Award Recipients
Mark Post (James Cook University, Australia)
A Grammar of Galo, La Trobe University, 2007

Antoinette Schapper (Leiden University, The Netherlands)
Bunaq. A Papuan Langauge of Central Timor, Australian National University, 2009

Honourable Mentions

Kofi Yakpo
A grammar of Pichi (Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen, The Netherlands, 2009)

Seino van Breugel
A grammar of Atong (La Trobe University, Australia, 2008)

René Lacroix
Description du dialecte laze d’Arhavi (caucasique du sud, Turquie). Grammaire et textes (Université Lyon-2, France, 2009)

Rosa Vallejos Yopán
A grammar of Kokama-Kokamilla (University of Oregon, USA, 2010)

Claudia Wegener
A grammar of Savosavo, a Papuan language of the Solomon islands (Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen, The Netherlands, 2008)

Patience Epps
(University of Texas, USA)
A Grammar of Hup

Back to Top

Georg von der Gabelentz Award

Past Award Recipients:

Diana Forker (Friedrich-Schiller-Universitšt Jena)
A grammar of Hinuq. A Nakh-Dagestanian language 2013. Berlin: Mouton de Gruyter.

Sebastian Fedden (University of Surrey, UK)
A grammar of Mian. 2011. Berlin: Mouton de Gruyter.

Carol Genetti
(University of California at Santa Barbara, USA)
Grammar of Dolakha Newar. 2007. Berlin: Mouton de Gruyter.


Back to Top


Page last updated
February 14, 2018  
Locations of visitors to this page Thanks are due to
the Dept of Linguistics,
Stockholm University
for hosting this site